• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Rudy needs surgery,Mom needs support.

Pam Smith

I am new to the forum and have only posted once. I really need advice and support. Rudy, my 18 month old Cavalier has luxating patellas and we have been watching them since Jan. and using supplements and exercise for muscle strengh. Anyway today's doctor visit presented me with needing surgery. He is almost a grade 1 in one leg and a heavy grade 2 leaning strongly to a three in the other. The vet said it is up to me as to when to do the surgery on the one leg. I am a high school teacher and am out for the summer and would be free to care for him now. If I wait until the end of August when school starts I am very tied down and not free to run to the vet that is 60 miles away. I hate dreading the surgery and would really like to get it done. The only thing that holds me back is during the school year my three dogs are crated and my husband lets them out for an hour when he comes home, then I am home by 3:30 and they are out until the the next morning. During the summer I stay at home and they aren't crated however they stay in one place and sleep all day as if I were at school. Anyway I wonder if Rudy would freak out being crated with the others free. The vet might agree to letting me put him in an small x-pen and I could put a low sitting chair in there to be with him while I am working on the internet or watching TV. My vet is very strict and says a big part of the healing has to do with me following instructions and keeping him still. Those of you that have faced similar situations with having surgery and other dogs around please advise. Rudy is a very senitive dog and whines when w