• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

A short coat...

Anna

Since I am new to this breed, I still have a lot of questions. I know much more about English Setters, the breed I grew up with. Anyway, Liesl's hair tends to be much shorter than other Cavs that I see. She just got spayed about 4-5 weeks ago (not show quality and my breeder agreed...nevertheless, cute as a button!). Prior to getting spayed, her coat wasn't anything to write home about and I've heard spaying doesn't help a coat much...just wonderful. Liesl is almost 8 months old and still has that short puppy fuzz! Will she ever get long hair?

I had the same question not long ago. It taks 18 months to 2 1/2 years to get their full coat, so technically, your girl is still a puppy, especiallyl in terms of her coat! :)

18 months to 2 1/2 years! Yikes. I guess I should enjoy it while it lasts since I don't have to brush her quite as often as I would if she had a full coat. Thanks for the info!

India and Geordie had their full coats at about 2 years, and it is more work to keep them brushed - so cherish every moment of their puppy coats! :lol: ;)

I definitely will enjoy this time then! By the way Cathy...I ordered the harness today! I got pink for Liesl...I little wimpy, I know, but she's pretty in pink. I can't wait to try it out! I measured her neck and decided on getting a large. Hopefully it's not too big. Thanks for the tip though...