• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Help!! Looking to adopt a puppy questions.

angelface

Sorry, newbie here. I have so many questions since I don't want to be victim again.

When considering buying a Cavalier from a reputable breeder. Should all the OFA/CERF certificates of the parents be current and up todate before breeding? Another question about the health guarantee 1 year versus 4 years.

Is there a difference making the breeder reputable? Generally health issues do not appear until the puppy has reach it 4th year. I am assuming the 1 year only covers that the puppy in question is delivered to me live and healthy, without worms, and distemper as in other dog breeds. Typically the Cavalier has more serious issues to consider even if its parents do not exhibit the inherent birth problems.

Only a few questions so far.

Thanking you in advance!

Good for you to be doing your homework!

Just as a starting point, there's a post here with lots of info:

http://board.cavaliertalk.com/showthread.php?t=11335

The second half of that post has cavalier-specific info.