• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Metronidizol/Flagyl

Hello all! This is my very first time posting on cavaliertalk.com as for some reason I was never able to post before, so I am a confessed lurker!

I have a question that I was wondering if some breeders could help me answer. This past March I brought home a tri male, Charlie, who was 5 months at the time from a reputable breeder in Pennsylvania (I live in Baltimore.) Just this past Saturday, I brought home a ruby male, Louie, who is a year and a half.

A week before we brought home Louie, Charlie had a diarrhea for about a week, and my vet prescribed Flagyl and Ammoxicilin. He seemed to be doing better on it, and his bowl movements, while not as frequent, maybe once a day instead of twice, seemed firmer. Not 100% where I'd like them to be, but not liquid. When we brought home Louie, my breeder gave me some Flagyl to give him, to prevent diarrhea as switching environments can be stressful, thus causing diarrhea. I spoke with my vet who seemed to think giving Flagyl without being sick seemed odd. My question to the breeders is, Is this something that other breeders do as well? I can understand from the perpspective of my breeder as to why they would want to give a preventative medicine, but also understand my vet's concern- why give a dog medicine when they aren't ill?