• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Please Spay Your Cavs!!

loopylucy

hi, just got thought i had to tell you all, the other day at work (i am a vet nurse) i saw the most terriable thing ever which made it the first time i cryed during a operation.
i had to help during operating on a cavalier which had a PYOMETRA which is pus in the uterus!! it occurs if your bitch is not spayed and is a very bad infection.

we did all that we could when the vet operated but sadly we couldnt do anymore, we then sadly had to stitch her up and call the owners to let them no there was nothuing else we could do and ask permission to put her to sleep, the owners came down to say goodbye and it was sooo upsetting!!

so please will all owners of bitches please have them spayed to prevent this!!

had to tell you all!!

xx

This story made me cry....those poor owners of that precious cavalier...their hearts must be shattered. Sooooo sad :( I hope your story helps to save the lives of others.....

One of my parents springers got that but luckily they were able to save her. She hadn't been spayed because they were hoping to breed her again. I think she maybe 6 or 7.

From the posts I've seen, I'd say most people on the board (breeders being the exception) have their bitches spay. In 40 + years of owning dogs-- we had one that got pyo at age 7 (20 years ago) and she recovered from the surgery and lived another 7+ years.

We have a Dr. Hutch in the US, that has been able to treat pyo and have the bitches heal enough to have puppies at a later date.

I feel badly for the people who lost their girl.