• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Soon (in 2 days!) to be rescue cave owner--need advice!

Hello everybody!! I just wanted to get some advice and encouragement ( and to introduce myself:)). I am hoping to welcome my dream dog ( a cavalier!) into my home on Saturday!! My husband and I are from Texas and I am a part-time nursing student (home lots!). I will eventually work nights as I am a night person and then I can be home with my furbabies! I have a 2 year old chihuahua named Isabel. She is happy and goes everywhere with us but I think she could use some canine companionship. Anyway, I am very excited that the foster family chose us even though we are 4 hours away and there were other applicants. I was honest and had many questions and concerns. I am mainly concerned with the dog's health since she is 5 years old and from questionable breeding. I worry about MVD and all the other diseases even though she has been "cleared" by the vet as healthy. I also worry about activity level as I have never actually owned a cavalier (though I have researched them for years) and do not know how their activity changes with age. I want to have some active years with her not only for us but for isabel. Most importantly I don't want to lose her in 5 years--or less!! I want advice and thoughts from others who have rescued a cav used for breeding (kept outside/dog-run). The is "mostly" housebroken (by the foster family) and has bonded well with the family and the other rescue dogs/cats. Everyone has agreed that we should come and see her (with isabel) with an open mind but I don't know if I will be able to resist her! I am so excited!!:D