• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

I'm devastated. I just found out my puppy came from a puppy mill.

Status
Not open for further replies.

newmom

Hello everyone, please let me introduce myself. I am in my late 20's, I have two adult cats, and I have a Bachelor's degree. All of my life I have owned cats and I am a huge animal lover. For several years I have wanted to adopt a dog as I have never owned one of my own before. My mother's dog that we had both cared for had just passed away at 16. I was totally depressed over the loss of our dog and wanted a new companion of my own.

I went to several local shelters looking for a puppy because my boyfriend said that would be best as I wanted to get a dog I could socialize to my cats (not already in the habit of chasing cats.) Mainly I wanted a Cavalier - I have wanted one for many years. None of the local shelters had any.

I started doing research online and I found a "celebrity" puppy boutique that had tons of positive/great references and even "Sharon Osborne" and her family had bought a couple of dogs and I believe at least 1 Cavalier from this company. They advertised that their dogs come from "private breeders" and are "very well cared for." I was so stupid and naive to believe this hype!

I purchased my puppy in April for $2,000. She was 3 months old at the time. As soon as she came home she got sick! First she was diagnosed with coccidia and giardia. As if that was not bad enough two weeks later she came down with pneumonia! The owner of the company I got her from reimbursed me for the parasite treatment and is in the process of reimbursing me for the pneumonia.