• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

What do you feed your puppy?

I am getting an 8 week old Cavalier on Friday. The breeder recommended Eukanuba Puppy, but my older Cavalier is on a holistic food and I'm not too crazy about the ingredients in Eukanuba. Any suggestions?

i have limited experience, but.....

my vet recommended Natual Balance by Dick Van Patten. it's available at Petco, and it comes in small bites. the dogs love the potato and duck formula. we use their tasty treats, too. if you sign up on their website, they'll email you coupons, too. the vet also said that the Costco brand dog food is pretty much the same thing and can be used in substitution. we also, once a week, bake up chicken breasts and then tear them into small chunks for a mix that also includes steamed cauliflower, carrots, brown rice, and green beans. we mix a half cup of that with a half cup of the Natural Balance. they get that twice a day.
mine are 11 months old, so the vet didn't say they had to be on puppy food. but he did mention that he likes the fact that Natural Balance had the small bite food that would work for a puppy and/or small breeds. :)

we mix a half cup of that with a half cup of the Natural Balance. they get that twice a day.

Wow -- do you mean you are feeding two cups of food a day to each dog? I am sure that is probably about twice what they actually need unless they are huge! Or do you mean they divide that between the two and get half a cup at each meal? Even my very active agility dog only eats about 3/4ths cup of food daily maximum.

ack!