• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

CKCS mixed with English Toy Spaniel

Status
Not open for further replies.

ReinasMama

Hi all, I'm new to the board (yay!) and I'm also new to the Cavalier world. I had been on a rescue list for cavaliers here in the US for over two years without any hope of rescuing one. Thankfully, the number of dogs in need seem to be fewer than the people who love Cavs. (or at least according to the rescue organizations)
I decided to search for a Cav in other venues, i.e. shelters, breeders etc. Since my shepherd mix Shadow had died in March, I was greatly missing the companionship and friendship of a dog. I found a woman that breeds a somewhat small number of her Champion dogs and raises them all in her home. She had a litter of CKCS/English Toy Spaniel mixes. Mum is the English Toy, only 10 pounds, dad is the Cav, at 22 pounds. Both are registered, heart cleared, healthy dogs. Dad is 6, mum is almost 3.
I'm wondering if anyone here has had or known of a CKCS/English Toy mix before. I am hoping that having the mixed bloodlines will help my newest family member to be as healthy as can be and live a long, happy life.
I've done my research on both breeds, so I am aware of the common history of both breeds, I've just never known anyone with this mix before.

Her name is Reina and she is 18 weeks (born 4-26-08). She is blenheim and looks like a purebred Cav. (She had a sister who looked more like an English Toy). She weighs in at 8 pounds right now...and knows Sit, Stay, Lay Down, Spin Around, and is learning more each day!