• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Do I tip the groomer?

nannyj

Quincy is almost 10 months old, and I've decided to get him groomed for the first time. Just a little trim to neaten him up a bit! Is it customary to tip the groomer? If so, how much? The groomer is charging $50. I'm new to all of this, and I would think I would, but I want to make sure.
Thanks!

I know New Jersey is expensive, but $50 seems really high to me! When I take mine in for a trim it is $28.

But, yes, do tip the groomer. I usually give $5, or roughly 15%.

I pay €70 for my two and usually tip €10. She does a great job, exactly what I ask for, unlike another groomer I used once who cut off all feathering :swear:

Not sure of the exchange rate at the min but $50 does seem alot, but I guess you get what you pay for. If they do a good job, it's money well spent :)

Actually, in my area, $50 is cheap! I have a friend with a cavalier who pays $75, and a few other places that I called charged $65. So when I heard $50, I thought it was a bargain - LOL!! I hope the groomer does a good job. She said she trims several cavaliers.

I use a groomer that comes to the house in a van that is customized into a grooming station and bath. It is $65, but you pay for the convenience. I also like that the dogs are never away from home or put in cages, etc. She also gives a 10% discount if you have more than one dog. She is the owner of the business, so would I be expected to tip her too? I haven't thus far, and I hope I'm not offending her. :confused: