• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Sensitivity after vaccinations

maliss

Hi (probably again) from Australia.
I'm new to CKCS and this forum.

I have an undersized Blenheim CKCS pure-bred that I received on Friday. The breeder said that she needed a booster for C4/C5 vaccinations.

Today we wandered off to the vet for the vaccintions. She is now super sensitive in the area of the vaccination to the point where if we touch it she'll squeal.

I am unsure whether cavs are prone to over sensitivity - I rang the vet who advised that she should not be this discomforted by the vaccinations.

So my question is: Are cavs over-sensitive to needle point vaccinations?

TIA

Hi Tia, in my little experience, i say yes, Nicki went to the vet for his vaccination the last october, at the moment all went ok, it seemed it didn't hurt him like when he got his antirabies vaccination, but after a few hours he felt so uneasy, you could not even touch him, and he almost could not walk, it was scary...after some hours he felt well again.
It is a pity because in Italy they do annual vaccinations whereas in some other countries every three years :confused:

Hi Tia, in my little experience, i say yes, Nicki went to the vet for his vaccination the last october, at the moment all went ok, it seemed it didn't hurt him like when he got his antirabies vaccination, but after a few hours he felt so uneasy, you could not even touch him, and he almost could not walk, it was scary...after some hours he felt well again.
It is a pity because in Italy they do annual vaccinations whereas in some other countries every three years :confused: