• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

My Story

Zumie05

Hello fellow Cavalier fans. I just wanted to share why I decided to join this forum, even though I do not have a CKCS!

The Cavalier King Charles Spaniel is a breed of dog I have been considering for at least the past 2 1/2 years. Really the only reason why I have not got one is because I am scared to death about choosing a breeder and worried I may end up with a pup that will not work out with my lifestyle.

When I got my first "pure bred" dog on my own, as a newbie I made all the newbie mistakes. I wanted a big, calm, intelligent dog (one that would take after my parents' dog, Zumie) and after a lot of reading about different breeds I chose a Rottweiler. I ended up with a horribly bred and sickly dog with a personality that I did not expect based of the breed description. My dog, Gary, I later on discovered was from a puppy mill. I was mortified.

By 7 months old Gary was limping and crying and was diagnosed with hip dysplasia in both hips, elbow dysplasia in both elbows, and both his shoulders were also bad. Basically it was so bad, it was 1) get him surgery on all his joints so he can walk again and have a quality life, or 2) put him down, because he could not walk even on pain meds and glucosamine. Now imagine the cost of surgery on 6 joints. Being a new home owner, I could not afford this.