• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

potty training question

Sullysmom

Hello! I am new to the wonderful Cavalier breed. I have owned and trained many dogs, but always large breeds such as labradors. This is my first experience with a small breed. Sully is 12 weeks old. I do crate train so when get wakes up, we immediately go outside. This is the method I have found to be easiest to "predict" when the little ones have to go. Potty training is going really well except one thing. Every 2-3 days, Sully goes out in the morning as usual, does his business and comes back in. Then, about 10 minutes after he has gone, he has another bowel movement in the house. Is this normal to have one back to back like that??? It's a little hard to predict since he has just gone. Just wondering... want to make sure there isn't anything I'm doing wrong?

I'll be very interested in any responses you get to this question. I am having the same issue with my 5 month old. He's peeing outside just fine now but still having problems with the pooping. And it's so unpredictable as to when he needs to go. He poops first thing in the morning after waking up. But then he usually does another in the a.m. but it can be anywhere from 9:00 to 11:00. I take him outside every hour but he still will go inside sometimes. We "have a party" when he poops outside so he knows it's a good thing. I can sometimes catch him starting inside and get him outside in time. I'll be curious to see what advice others can give on this.

We had the opposite problem with our Abigail. She would poop outside; even let us know that she had to go out. Trouble was she would pee in the house without warning.