PDA

View Full Version : Harvey Arches - 8 weeks old

Harvey Arches
31st January 2011, 07:14 PM
Hi,

(I'm new to this so hope I am doing this right :confused:)

Firstly, our puppy Harvey is 8 wks old and we brought him home of Saturday. He is starting to settle in really well and is such a lil cutie.. he's black and tan.

We are using the crate training. He was whinging last night etc but was very good over all, I brought him out to the toilet every two hrs approx and he went so we were delighted - tough going :smile:

He is sleeping on my lap during the day - I have placed him in the crate but he comes straight out?

He jumped at me with a biting look and bark and fell off the sofa - he had been chewing I told him 'no'. I picked him straight up but I was shocked?
He has barked at me again this morning - he may have been looking for attention but again I am concerned as it could be something I am doing wrong.

Looking for people's thoughts on and also any tips? Thanks in advance :smile:

Kate H
31st January 2011, 08:59 PM
Hi Harvey's Mum? Dad?

Welcome to Cavalier Talk, you'll find lots of friendly help here for bringing up your lovely new puppy and we look forward to hearing all about him and we LOVE photos!

All puppies chew, so they need something they are allowed to chew. Then, if Harvey chews the wrong thing, you can say no gently but firmly, give him his toy or rawhide chew or whatever is his, and as soon as he starts on it, praise him. He will quickly learn that some things he is allowed to chew and other things are off limits.

I'm sure Karlin, our Top Dog, will refer you to her favourite book on bringing up puppies, which you can download and is excellent. And don't be afraid to ask questions - we've all been there!

Kate, Oliver (9.5-year-old ruby) and Aled (3.5-year-old Blenheim)

Jasper and Holly
31st January 2011, 09:06 PM
Welcome Harvey,