• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Tear stains

Manny

Hello, I am new to CavalierTalk, and I have a question. My new puppy has developed bad tear stains. I took him to the vet, and the vet said that he has a nasal blockage. She basically told me that I need to give him eye drops for maybe the rest of his life( eye drops=$35). I am baffled because when I got him, his eyes were completely clean, and I felt maybe he was allergic to something at or around my house. I have tried to give him the eye drops, but he completely resists. I pretty much end up just spilling all the eye drops on his face, without landing any drops in his eyes.

My question is: Is my vet just trying to make an extra buck by prescribing eye drops, or is my lil puppy allergic to something at my house? I asked my vet about Angel Eyes for tear stains, and she told me not to use that until he is at least a year old because it affects the enamel in their teeth. Can someone please comment on this? Thank you.

My two had tear stains when they were pups and it was because they were teething. You just have to wipe them every day. You can get a product called crystal eyes and that will clean the stains as just water won't do it. I would maybe get a second opinion from another vet?

My Bella didn't develope tear staining until she was older. Maybe 6-8 months old. I was told as long as it doesn't have a smell to it, its ok. Just wipe daily, very gently, with a warm wash cloth. If there is a smell, it could be a yeast infection, or other eye issue.
See your vet for diagnosis. Good luck!