• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Hello, I'm new and looking for info about the breed.

Amber

Hi,

I have decided to get another dog sometime within the next few years and think a cavalier is the breed for me :)
I joined here so I could get as much information as possible from people who know about cavaliers.

I have some questions, I hope someone doesn't mind answering them. I am a complete newbie to the breed and don't know much icon_blshing

When looking for a breeder what should I look out for, a part from showing their dogs are there any specific health tests that should be done, or anything else I should look for? Also, what health problems are cavaliers prone to and what should be done to prevent them?

Except colour are there any differences between the 4 different colours - like one has better coat quality etc?

In general, are they a good family dog - good with kids?

Thank you :)

Hi - yes maybe to the main section, but rather than repost, and I think rather than having people writing long lists of what to look for in a breeder and reinvent the wheel here :) , why not check the many puppy buyer links we already have (box in the right hand column on the main page) that all go into this topic in great detail? The first link is a guide we offer right on this site then there are a number of additional relevant links that answer exactly this question. Maybe read through those then come back with any specific resulting questions? As they will answer all that you have asked above. :D