• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Dog food

mardinim

Hello All,

I just joined this forum, so apologies if the following questions have been answered. I have a 10 month old cavalier named Miles and I've been feeding him Honest Kitchen Chicken and Oat recipe, but his stool has been soft. Do most of you make your own food for your dogs? If so, can you recommend a good recipe for Miles? Thank you,
Mark

I'm new here but I have been making my Cavaliers lightly cooked food for many years ( I could never quite get into raw and now with MVD it is recommended to stay away from raw). Be careful of recipes found online as most are not balanced including some from Nutritionists. I use a human recipe calculator which identifies all nutrients/vitamins/amino acids and then I manually compare those amounts to the NRC guidlines. There are some things that need to be balanced like calcium/phos ratio, copper to zinc ratio and it's nearly impossible to get enough Vitamin E from food alone so you will still some supplements. Because my Bailey has MVD, I feed a high protein, moderate fat and low carb & low sodium diet and rotate proteins but she does get some beef heart in every batch. It's a lot of work initially but once you have a few recipes created it's simple to change out a few ingredients without too much work. It may be easier to just use a meal mix where you add only a few fresh ingredients but then you are somewhat locked into using the same food each batch. I usually make 9-10 pounds of food which is 18-22 days (depending on the calories in the batch) for her and freeze in containers & I always have 2 different batches that I rotate daily.