• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Raven's Journey in case we can help someone else.

taxtell

Hi! I just wanted to share our little 9 month old girl's journey with everyone. Hopefully some new puppy owners can benefit from my mistakes.

When we brought Raven home from our breeder's (who is amazing and tests for everything you can possibly test for), she had the sniffles. I took her to the (integrative, so they said) vet and had her looked at, as I suspected she had bordetella. The vet assured me that:
1) The oral bordatella vaccine will help her get over the affliction faster.
2) It was perfectly fine to give her DHLPP as well.

Unfortunately, they were wrong. As a former vet tech, I should have listened to my gut instinct. Raven got VERY sick from her vaccines and ended up with a severe case of pneumonia.
She was put on so many antibiotics. She was on Amoxiclav, then amoxiclav with baytril (generic, which made her projectile vomit) then amoxiclav with doxycyclin from July to November, (again, I should have paid more attention) and she wasn't getting better. It took literally months to get her lungs clear. I believe the using Mycodog Breathe, using a nebulizer and a high dose of Azithromycin finally cleared her up (along with an herb called Lift the Qi).
Because of the overuse of antibiotics, her gut biome was destroyed. (I sent a sample to animalbiome to confirm this. She is still on their FMT protocol.