• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Questions regarding gettng a Cavalier...

lccreature

Hi there. I am new to the forum. I don't have a cavalier...yet. My daughter has inherited my love and passion for animals, especially dogs. She is very interested in getting a small breed dog that she can show (conformation, obideince, agility, 4-H, etc...) We have looked at many different breeds and the breed that she is most interested in and I feel would be an excellent match for our family is the Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. I have had several clients (I am a dog trainer) that have them and am familiar with the breed, but prior to doing some onlie research for breeders and discovering this site I had no idea of the serious health issues surrounding this breed. My questions are what is the likely hood of getting a puppy with little to no problems? Does anyone reccomend a breeder in the US that does health screening/testing? Do you still advise getting a Cavalier even with the health issues they can have? I was a vet tech for over 20 years so I can handle medicating,etc. I am more concered about the quality of life for the dog.

thanks so much!
Laura

Hi Laura, and welcome. I am hoping that someone that has more experience with Cavs and health issues will leave a response. I've only had my Claire just a year, and it's my first Cavalier.

I was waiting for others to answer your questions, but no one seems to have jumped in, so, here goes:

... My questions are what is the likely hood of getting a puppy with little to no problems?...

The likelihood is good that, as a puppy, the cavalier will be healthy, if obtained from a responsible breeder.