• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

When do they stop resembling rats?

C

Cockerspaniel

It seems to me -I'm new to this - that a lot of young KCCS are a bit rat-like. Am just wondering at what age they grow out of that and look cute and hairy?

Cockerspaniel said:
It seems to me -I'm new to this - that a lot of young KCCS are a bit rat-like. Am just wondering at what age they grow out of that and look cute and hairy?

OUCH-- to me they look like lil guinea pigs (beauty, of course is in the eye of the beholder). By age four weeks most cavalier pups are gorgeous- IMO- Sandy

If they look like rats as opposed to hamsters or guinea pigs they don't sound like they come from very good breeders! :lol:

I was asked when I sent around a pic of Jaspar at 3.5 weeks announcing my new puppy, whether I was sure I hadn't been sold a hamster instead. :lol:

Seriously though if the puppies are long and skinny and more ratlike than plump and sturdy and a bit flat faced, I'd be concerned about the quality of breeder. Sounds all wrong for cavalier puppies of more than a few days old!

Righto. At what age do they stop resembling guinea pigs/hamsters and start looking like the splendid Cavaliers that Karlin and others have posted here?

Cockerspaniel said:
Righto. At what age do they stop resembling guinea pigs/hamsters and start looking like the splendid Cavaliers that Karlin and others have posted here?

A poorly bred cavalier will never look splendid. AT birth - all puppies have a lot of the same charactoristics. I would never have called any of my puppies "rat like" at any time. Maybe I am just missing something. I wish I could have a picture of what you consider "ratlike". Sandy