• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Going to Groomers

joandesan

I'm taking Bosco to the groomers this Saturday. The weather is turning hot and humid in NYC, and he has been panting lately and looks uncomfortable. He is not overweight -- just has a thick, thick coat.

I'm going to ask the groomer to cut or thin his body hair, possible shave his underside and maybe neaten up his ears. I will leave the feet/tail/leg feathers alone.

Does anyone have any suggestions or thoughts on what I should tell the groomer. I'm not keen on having him cut at all, but I don't like seeing him uncomfortable.

Thanks.

Joan

Be VERY specific with what you want. I have had some bad experience with groomers. Even if they act like they're going to keep the "cavalier look" make sure you specify the parts you DONT want cut (I.e. ears, slippers, chest feathering, etc.) I usually ask for a hygienic cut, along with shaving the belly and trimming her back, and a good thinning on the sides.

Last night I was cutting some mattes out of Gracie's coat and next thing you know I had filled a grocery bag with hair and she's all cleaned up. She looks pretty good if I do say so myself cl*p