• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Hello

*Pauline*

Hello! My name is Pauline AKA Polly. I am new to Cavalier Talk. I will be getting my puppy in about 3 months, mum due any day. I can't wait. This site is great. I look forward to taking part. cavtiny

icon_welcome and we'll all be looking forward to the puppy pictures! :snap:

Do you have a preference for sex or colour or are you waiting to see what comes up in the litter?

puppy

Thanks for your replies. I'm waiting on a blenheim girl puppy. The breeder has two mums due and another just pregnant. She said I can pick from all three litters foy my girl. She doesn't show anymore so I'm guessing that will give me more choice too as she won't be having her pick first, we'll see. My only choice now is if she should be spayed or not. A couple of breeders told me not to as the bitch will get a woolie coat and put on weight. The weight gain being an added problem if a heart problem arrises. What do you think? I'd always heard that to spaye just before the first season meant the bitch was 7 times less likely to develope mammary cancer. Anyone got pics of this so called woolie coat? How bad can it be?! Thanks. cavtiny

Well, weight is entirely due to the fact that a neutered anumal just needs to be fed aboyt 10-15% fewer calories! Their metabolism sometimes slows. So just feed a bit less and you will have no issues with weight gain. Wooly coat (or cotton coat) is FAR MORE an issue of 1) overweight dogs and 2) genetics. I hjave two nuetered males with perfectly silky coats that I keep lean by watching their diet and plenty of exercise -- a good combination for any dog regardless of whether it is neutered or spayed. :)