Thread: Howdy

Post Thanks / Like

Default Howdy

I am a novice and newbie to both the discussion boards and the beloved Cavaliers. I am a new mom to Quincy. She is a Tri that is 5 months old. I want to be a good mom and handle her in the best way, since I read from you that there is a critical learning curve at her age. I found Cavaliertalk while researching the other night. I feel less confident of the discussion board, so forgive me if I mess up protocol. There is so much to learn and I think I have found the right place. So..my first question is: How do I handle the biting and nibbling that seems to be getting better but still socially unacceptable?

Thanks,
    Marsha

Post Thanks / Like

Hi

Welcome. You will find a wealth of knowledge on this board. Sure like to see pics of your Quincy soon. What I did that worked for me and my cavaliers and collie is when they start to bite I would loudly say ouch like they would do to each other in pack if they bit each other. A loud ouch and then NO! and leave them for a moment. If they were good such as not biting or like a couple of mine that like to take my hand in there mouth and hold it ...they don't bite .....then I praise them to high heaven. This worked for me ..hope it works for you. Welcome....Mary
    Mary-owned by Maya, Scout, Jazz and Sassy
    Annie at the bridge 3/13
    Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we're here we should dance......

Post Thanks / Like

hello and Marsha

Post Thanks / Like

Hello Marsha and to the board. Looking forward to seeing pictures of your cavalier!
    Thanks from JoJo (M-blen- 2 yrs) , Jack (M-Tri 1 yr at the Bridge) , and Miley's Destiny our newest addition born April 22nd (F-Blen 14 weeks old)

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Howdy

Quote Originally Posted by Qmom