• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Grace's loose bowels

annwagner

Hi Everybody:

I'm brand new to Cavalier Talk and really appreciate what I have been reading.

My name is Ann and I have a 3 1/2 yr. old Blenheim girl. Well, I just added a 6 month old Tri to our family (she is 7 months now). She's been having loose bowels and diarrhea almost since we got her. I've been trying everything the vet has suggested and have had her fecal sample tested (negative), had her wormed anyway, put her on chicken and rice for a few days, but her stools are still not as firm as I think they should be. And she has some liquid squirts at the end of the bm. She does not appear sick and runs around having a good time, but I'm concerned that she is not getting enough nutrition because she's having so many bms.

The vet suggested I take her off puppy food and I did that and it helped some. I talked to the small pet store owner about food and she suggested that I feed her lamb and rice rather than adult turkey and rice because the turkey concoction has corn in it. I've been using Regal dog food and my older girl does well on it.

Does anyone have any suggestions about what I can do? Will the lamb and rice help? I also heard that if you give them a little canned pumpkin it might firm up their stools. I'm really worried about little Gracie and I'm willing to try almost anything if it will help although I am concerned that part of her problem may be all this switching foods and the stress of all the vet visits, etc.

Thanks, Ann and Grace

Welcome to the board! :)