• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

UK pet insurers?

Lisa_T

Hi all,

I'm a newbie who is currently owned by one Black and Tan 3 yr old girl and expecting to get another cav soon. Until now, I haven't actually taken pet insurance- and in fact, the only vet money Holly has cost me in three years has been her vaccs, spaying and a course of antibiotics for a tummy bug- but a couple of near misses on the road and a thorough scarifying from Cav health sites has made me decide to take out pet insurance.

As far as I know, Holly is clear in the health stakes (she rubs her face first thing when she wakes up- as if she's rubbing her eyes- anything to worry about?) and I'll get her checked again when I take the new puppy for her first checkup. However, she is a Cavalier and the health prospects aren't good long term, although I may be lucky. Doesn't hurt to be prepared. I'd rather pay £20 or £30 a month (that's assuming cover for two dogs) than be hit with a bill running into hundreds... which brings me to my question:

Who does good insurance for Cavalier owners?

While Holly (and baby) are healthy, can I go for a cheaper plan (say, Tescos, which only offers vet fees for up to a year after the diagnosis of a condition), and switch when/if longer term help is needed?

Am I eligible to apply for pet insurance from ROI if it's better than the UK?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Whichever company you go with please check the level of cover...

Look for LIFE LONG CONDITION cover....many companies offer lifetime cover for the dog but not lifetime conditon cover which when dealing with MVD and SM you will need cover more than the usuall 12 months given by many.