• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Leptospirosis vaccine

Pavane

Getting my pup this weekend. Our breeder warns against the leptospirosis vaccine. Is this a common concern? I am a real Cav newbie.

I'm not sure why - I have just checked our vaccination profile and Merlin vfirst had Nobival and then two doses of Quantum 7 ( because this doesn't work on the back of Nobival - so we had to start from scratch)

This is effective against canine distemper, parainfluenza, parvo virous and Inactivated Leptospira ( is suspect it uses an inactivated bacteria so that antibodies are created but no actual symptoms occur.)

To be honest - it doesn't sound a particlulary nice disease "bacterial disease transmitted by contact with the urine of an infected dog, rat or other wildlife. Produces sever symptoms of fever, depression, jaundice and internal bleeding and was fatal BEFORE the vaccine was developed. Recovered dogs can be carriers and the disease can be transmitted from dogs to humans" taken from Meredith Johnson-Snydr's Cavalier King Charles Spaniels.

However, the breeder that put us in touch with our breeder believes in homeopathic vaccines http://www.betic.com/ - maybe this would be an option! - I'm no vet - just my reading on the subject

Pavane said:
Getting my pup this weekend. Our breeder warns against the leptospirosis vaccine. Is this a common concern? I am a real Cav newbie.

;) About every couple of months we discuss shots and recommendations. I think every dog is an individual and every lifestyle needs to be examined when it comes to inoculations. Here is a basis of my shot recommendations (I have modified it a little-- a compromise with my vet, really)