• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Hello! Garden dangers

Katie

Hi there. This is my first post; I'm new to all this and completely new to dog owning. We got Scampi (now 9 wks) a week ago and she is delicious. My biggest problem is training my 8 and 12 yr old daughters how to be with her, while I am learning myself!

I have been browsing your site for several weeks in the run-up to getting her and it has all been really useful. I wonder whether you can give me a bit of advice. We have a largish garden, with a lot of mature trees and shrubs in it, some of which are, I understand, potentially poisonous; notably masses of yew and some holly. So far, because I am waiting for a gate to be put in, I have quickly got her used to a collar and lead and have not yet let her off. I would very much like to let her off when I can, but should I be overly concerned about the likelihood of her munching dangerous plants? Dog-owning friends say they have never given it any thought. Presumably when one lets dogs off in a large open space, one has no control over what they pick up... Do dogs ever develop any sense about what is and is not good to eat?

Also - what height fence do you think should contain an adult cavalier?! Do you think 1metre wire mesh would do?

Please forgive my ignorance - it's a steep learning curve!

Oh boy do I ever understand the learning curve!!

First off, icon_welcome Nice to have you aboard.. now where are all of your pictures? :snap: hehe :p