• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

sorry folks!

Karlin

Administrator
Staff member
Didn't mean to terrify anyone but in process of setting up the NEW board, I changed the database password I thought just for the new db but turned out I changed it for them all. :lol: That meant suddenly Cavaliertalk was down for a bit a short while ago.

Anyway I realised pretty quickly what the problem probably was (believe me I am proud of this -- it has been a steep learning curve over the past two years to feel this comfortable with digging round in code files given that I am not a programmer and barely knew any html even back then) and it is back up.

The GREAT information is: I have the new board up in its basic form and am so excited about this! Today and tomorrow I will work on the design, which will stay relatively close to this board as I like the colours and simplicity of design. And also I will practice (as they advise) doing some database transfers of a backup of the board so that this board will continue, business as usual. If as I hope those work smoothly -- then we will be ready to go! I will aim to do the transfer very quickly so that most will not even notice the board has been offline briefly.

More info on what is going on, here:

http://www.cavaliertalk.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=7369

I have a basic design to use for the Cavaliertalk main site as well so this will be my next project.

Thanks for being part of the board as we expand and try some new things.