• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Vomiting

SamT

Hi,

My puppy Sam is vomiting at the moment, once last night and once during the night. This can happen now and again. He never vomits more than twice. Im new to being a dog owner and I was wondering what would cause this? Im worried I could be over feeding him. He gets about 3/4 of a cup (big cup you get with the food) of Royal Canin every day. He is not given anything else apart from the odd puppy biscuit during training.

Any ideas what could be causing this?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Emma
:dogwlk:

Last edited:
When do you feed him ? If you feed him in one go you may be better splitting his meals up so he has smaller meals.

He could be hungry, my dogs used to do this when puppies early morning if they were hungry ?

If you feed him at night and he is vomiting close after feed time then obviously he is not hungry but may be too full which is why you need to split up meals ? Or does he drink a lot of water after his meal ? this could be the cause or does he eat too quick ???

Many many reasons, depends on how close to mealtimes the vomiting occurs and what exactly you have fed him and at what times ?

Even though he may only vomit twice at a time still monitor very closely as puppies can dehydrate very quickly or get sicker very quick Is he alert and responsive as normal soon after ?

All good questions above. How old is he as well?