• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Cavalier got spayed, behavior changed

BellaBeauty

Hello, I am new to the Cavalier Spaniel world as my puppy just turned 6 months and she is the first Cavalier I have had. Anyway I took her to be spayed last week. You probably think I am crazy but she is a completely different dog and in many ways not a good thing. She was there from Monday morning until Wednesday morning.

This is the first time i have had a puppy as well all of my dogs have been adults when I have gotten them. Anyway she came home and she used to follow me around but now she is in my lap every moment unless I set her down. That I can deal with at this point and we are working on it. I am guessing maybe some separation anxiety???

The barking is the huge problem. I am not kidding you that my dog hardly ever barked. Maybe once or twice a day when she would see someone at first or someone new would come over. Now it is all the time. She barks at the tv, she barks when my husband leaves for work in the morning, she barks just sitting on my lap at night. Most of the time when she is on my lap it is a low growl but sometimes becomes a bark. No one is approaching and no strange noises just sitting and working on my laptop with the tv on she just has a constant growl. If she is in a deep sleep and it woken up she jumps and barks. NONE of this happened before. I am not be over dramatic it is like this dog is a completely different animal. All of this behavior started the day we brought her home from the vet. Has anyone every experienced any of this?