• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Idea for SM breeder register?

Devilica

Hi,
I have read these boards as a guest for several weeks, but with the "pedigree dogs" program the other night I have been reading much more often.
The first thing I will admit is that I am no expert on any of this, but I do want to find a way to try to help the average cavalier pet buyer.

I was wondering if it is a possibility to start a website ( I can do this) where we can attempt to contact every cav owner with an official SM diagnosis. (this can also be introduced for MVD and other hereditary ilnesses)
For every dog we can "register" with an official diagnosis (MRI scan results and vet report has to be shown) we could then get a list of A) breeder names and B) infected dogs parents names (kc reg dogs only of course.)
This list could then be a helpful start when looking for a new puppy.

I can see that a LOT of breeders are going to hate me for this suggestion, but we can also add a section for each breeder stating that we have spoken to them and that they have scanned their dogs now and are no longer breeding from infected dogs, are planning on scanning before breeding again or they couldnt care less. (various other breeder comments can go here)

My only issue is trying to work out libel laws. If "fact" is the defence behind libel then seeing the scans and pedigree papers of each dog added would surely safe guard me from any legal issues. (yes I may just be totally naive)