• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Scratching

Rosie26

Hi,
I am new to Cavaliertalk. I have a Cav called Rosie. I am feeding her dry food at the moment and she also has an addiction for Mixed Ovals. She also eats whatever leftovers we have here mixed with the dry. She is scratching alot at her coat and her ears. I have treated her for mange and worms etc. I am concerned when I hear about this SM thing too.Do alot of Cavs get dry skin? Is it the dry food? I would really appreciate some advice. She is in great form otherwise.

Thank you

Rosie's Mammy

Hello Rosie's Mammy,

I can understand how you must feel worried.
Have you talked to your vet?
There are a lot of reasons for scratching, so expert advice is a good idea.

Margaret C

Hi, echoing the previous advice, you should take a trip to the vet. It could be ear mites, yeast infection in the ears, allergies, fleas, etc. The vet can tell you what is wrong, and it may put your mind at ease.

Welcome to the board!

Poor quality food can also be a reason for scratching, even obsessive scratching. Amber was scratching extensively when my two were temporarily on Pedigree Chum dry food a while ago - within 48 hours of being switched back to a high quality food the scratching had virtually vanished. It comes back as soon as she eats too much poor quality food though so I think it's worth the little extra to buy good stuff. Although really, £30 for three months worth of high quality food for three dogs REALLY isn't a lot of money.

Although really, £30 for three months worth of high quality food for three dogs REALLY isn't a lot of money.