• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Questions for breeder

Christin1994

Hi everyone! So I graduated high school on May 24 and I'm now in community college!!! I emailed a breeder two and a half hours away from me here in Florida about adopting one of her pups. She's got a female due next month. She put me on her waiting list for a puppy! I wanted to know what questions to ask the breeder even before meeting her (or should I wait till I meet her). Thanks so much for your input and the wisdom!!
God bless

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm sure there are others I'm missing, but off the top of my head you're going to want to find out --

1) if the parents have been tested (and what the results were) for:
-heart
-eyes
-hips/knees

Don't be satisfied with simple verbal answers from the breeder, ask to see actual medical records. I would also try to find out if the breeder is familiar with SM.

2) what conditions the parents live in (meet them in person if you can)

3) how old the parents are

The breeder should also not be too keen to sell her pups to just about anyone. Hopefully she's asking her own question of you too, to make sure the pup goes to a good home.

Ask if you can see the parents.....make sure its not a puppy farm.....

Have the parents had an MRI? Also what were the results.
And like Dandelos said you need certificates for these plus, eyes and heart.

Well done for thinking with your head and not your heart. A puppy from unhealthy checked parents will probably cause you heartache as once you have one of these fantastic little dogs you'll fall in love with him/her before you know it.

Good luck