• If you're a past member of the board, but can't recall your password any more, you don't need to set up a new account (unless you wish to). As long as you recall your old login name, you can log in with that user name then select 'forgot password' and the board will email you at your registration email, to let you reset your password.

Cedar in Kansas

Moviedust

About a month ago, I purchased my first Cavalier. I'm new to the breed, and so I'm learning about our tri-color female (Cedar) as she grows. I am very happy to have discovered a forum on the breed; I hope I can find all sorts of info and advice from the more experienced owners.

Welcome! I also have a tri, 3-yr old Abbey. You'll learn a lot on this board, it's a great resource!

Love the name Cedar!

Thanks! It seems like I hear more bad news about health problems that the breed suffers, and I have been in a constant state of fear that Cedar is doomed. :( A little reassurance would go a long way, so I'm hoping to find some hope here!

Oh no, don't feel that way! The breed isn't doomed, but they do require a diligent, proactive owner. The Health and Diet section and the SM forum of this site are very good areas to start reading up on. I don't feel they have more issues than any other breed, but the ones they do have are a bit more rare. Again, nothing that can't be managed by staying on top of things and informing your vet. A good way to do so is to print out the information here, especially on SM, and make a file for your vet. This is what I've done, as well as a lot of other members.
You're doing the right thing already, you've joined this board and will now be informed on anything and everything related to Cavaliers!

Thanks for the reassurance. I'm also suffering from guilt. You see, I *thought* I was working with a reputable breeder, but I discovered after the fact that Cedar's breeder was anything but. :S So now I'm concerned that Cedar's health is questionable.